Potential

About 20 minutes ago we got in the elevator at 430am and headed to the lobby,

I stood and stared behind her eyes for about 20 minutes,

I remember the tone of her last words wiping the back of my neck and curving around to my mouth “crack, crack”,

She got into the Lyft and rode off…and not until about 23 minutes later did the weight of my new loss finally punched my open heart…

Someone took an ice cream scooper and carved out some meat of my stomach…I had a spike in heart and crater in my chest…the weight of a new type of revelation, a color I’ve never seen before;

I did not only lose her, I lost potential, I lost her voice, I lost her stories, I lost her pain, I lost her arms gripped firmly around my posture.

We sat in each other like couches newly broken in,

Newly soaking in the new-founded love that we pretended we didn’t have…out of fear; of potential.

My heart became audible and I stared at my black ceiling until the sun made it white again.

I’ll wait in peacetime while my emotions war on; for us to return to each other.

Leave a comment