Sound

The champion ghost,
Up close,
I couldn’t see her,
She thirsted,
I refused to feed her.

I extended my hand through her hollow chest,
The moisture of her atmosphere stung at best,
The old poison I couldn’t breath,
Produced from the heart I wouldn’t feed,
Produced from the heart I often need,
To replenish my daily desire to grieve,
Her condition from my own inaction,
I keep reaching inside her spirit to grab a reaction,
She wouldn’t move,
I searched for her better,
She wouldn’t improve,
Petrified just stand and stare,
And focus on how we’re getting each other no where.

I recessed, and matched her frequency,
I noticed she hasn’t been saying much recently,
I figured the cat had her tongue,
Or I’ve bent her energy until she had none,
I waited,
And watched-
A word trickle down her lip, and stopped,
Before it hit,
The ground,
The awful sound,
Of shattered speech,
Right by her feet,
It harmed my ears,
It harmed the peace,
Unquiet decrease-
Of her and me,
Day in day out,
I need to shout,
She’d break like glass,
She takes a gasp,
Of air at last,
The storm has passed,
The awful point,
The awful past…
Finally…sound.

Leave a Reply

